Finding yourself in a position wherein you’ve been pulled over by the police for driving under the influence of drink or drugs will probably leave you with a million questions about what’s coming next. It’s a terrifying prospect to face, especially when you’ve never been through the process before.
The most pressing question people usually have is “what penalties will I face if I’m found guilty?”
Tennessee penalties for a DUI conviction
If you’ve been arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, you’re facing the risk of a DUI conviction.
For a first offense, potential penalties in Tennessee include:
- A fine ranging from $350 to $1,500
- A period of jail time from 48 hours up to 11 months and 29 days
- Mandatory participation in a drug or alcohol treatment program
- A license revocation of up to one year
- Payment of restitution to anyone who suffers personal injury as a result of the DUI
- Significant court costs that could amount to around $5,000
- Installation of an interlock ignition device on your vehicle
If your BAC was 0.20% or more at the time you were arrested, you’ll face a seven-day mandatory minimum jail time. This elevated risk takes into account the supposedly high level of alcohol in your system and the fact that this particularly reckless alleged behavior warrants a more significant penalty.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, there may be significant mitigating factors that you can put forward in defense of the case against you. You’ll need to effectively challenge the prosecution’s case after reviewing their evidence. Having legal assistance in place will be essential in fighting your case and putting forward a strong defense.